COVID-19 Updates

header image

Scholarship Awards

2021 Information:

2021 Scholarship Application

2021 New York Farm Bureau Agricultural Youth Scholarship Information

·         Applicant Guidelines

¨       2021 graduating high school seniors who will continue their education to prepare for a career in some way connected to the diverse agricultural industry.

¨       Live or work on a farm or be involved with agriculture via any avenue. 

¨       Family Farm Bureau membership or student Farm Bureau membership is required and may accompany application.

·         Process and Procedure 

¨       Students are required to complete an application which is a fillable pdf (above) and submit a brief 300-500-word essay discussing an issue facing                           agriculture in their county, explaining how they think NYFB can support members who may deal with this issue.

¨       Completed application packets must be returned to New York Farm Bureau in AlbanyA March 1, 2021 postmark deadline or via email to                        

¨       A District level competition will be held.  Scoring will determine the county winners as well as the District winner.  The judging event may necessitate a personal interview and essay presentation or may be based solely upon the application and attachments.  The judging will take place prior to April 20, 2021.  Each District winner will receive $100 plus a memento of their selection.


State winner selection will be made from District winners, based solely on the submitted applications; there will be no personal interviews.


A $1500, $1200, and $1000 Scholarship will be awarded


For more information call 1-800-342-4143


New York Farm Bureau Names 2020 Scholarship Winners

Three New York high school seniors have received the distinct honor of being named statewide winners of the 2020 New York Farm Bureau Agricultural Youth Scholarship. Each student received district-wide recognition and then competed for one of three statewide scholarships. The students must have a family Farm Bureau membership or a student Farm Bureau membership in order to qualify.  A panel of judges selected the winners based on their essay submissions, as well as their applications, which include their community and agricultural engagement.

The first-place winner is Nicole Lynn DelConte of Oswego, NY. She is a member of Oswego County Farm Bureau in District Six and received a $1,500 scholarship from New York Farm Bureau. DelConte attends Oswego High School where she started an agriculture club which is moving to expand ag education formally.   She is actively involved with her county fair, and serves as an Ag ambassador plus other roles.  An active 4-H member, she hopes that an FFA Chapter can be established at her school.  Nicole plans to attend Cornell University where she will major in agricultural science. She hopes to one day work as an agricultural educator.

The second-place winner is Jessica R. Engel from Springville, NY where she is a student member of Erie County Farm Bureau. She is a senior at Springville-Griffith Institute. Engel is a 9-year member of 4-H as well as President of her local FFA Chapter. In addition, she has worked with three agricultural businesses ranging from retail and customer service to feed manufacturing and on-farm seasonal labor.  She plans to attend Black Hawk College in the fall to major in livestock nutrition/ag business with a career goal of livestock nutritionist. Jessica received a $1,200 scholarship from New York Farm Bureau.

The third-place ($1,000 scholarship) winner is Erin Armitage of Greenwich, NY, a Washington County Farm Bureau member in District Eight. Erin attends Greenwich High School where she is the President of the Greenwich FFA Chapter and also the past NYS FFA District III President.  Her busy life also includes 4-H and serving as a student advisor plus her role as NYS Alternate Dairy Princess.  With consideration of her current Dairy Princess role, Erin plans to attend Morrisville State and then Virginia Tech, majoring in Agriculture Business and Communications and a minor in Political Science with a career goal to lobby for agriculture.

Other district scholarship winners include:

District 2: Danielle Herrick is from Bliss, NY where she attends Pioneer High School. Upon graduation, she will attend Cornell University to major in Agricultural Sciences with a career goal in the field of agricultural law.

District 3: Rebecca Colgan is from Auburn, NY and attends Union Springs High School. She plans to pursue a degree in Agricultural Sciences with a concentration in Business Management and Policy from Cornell College of Agriculture and Life Sciences with a Dairy Consulting Specialist career goal.

District 4: Chelsie Fuller, from Newark Valley, NY, attends Newark Valley High School. After graduating, she will be attending SUNY Morrisville studying Animal Science/Dairy to prepare for a dairy nutritionist career.

District 5: Erin Curtis Szalach is from Cazenovia, NY where she attends Cazenovia High School. She will attend SUNY Cobleskill in the fall to study Animal Science to prepare for a career as a sire analyst. 

District 7: Elizabeth C. Nichols is from Churubusco, NY where she attends Northern Adirondack Central School. Upon graduation, she plans to attend either SUNY Canton, Alfred or Delhi to pursue a degree in Veterinary Technology and move on to a career as a veterinary technician.

District 9: Sean Carron is from Delhi, NY and attends Delaware Academy Central School. He plans to attend SUNY Delhi to study Golf and Sports Turf Management with a career goal of Golf Course Superintendent.

District 10: Faith Shultz is from Millbrook, NY and attends Millbrook High School and Dutchess BOCES CTI. She will attend either Dutchess Community College or SUNY Cobleskill to study Agricultural Business Management with career goal to be an Agricultural Educator.

District 11: Julia Gammon, from Cutchogue, NY, attends Mattituck High School. After graduation she will continue her family passion at Woodside Orchards as she makes her decision on future study choices.